Today’s Hours


Board of Trustees

The Maryland Science Center is governed by a Board of Trustees comprised of approximately 30 individuals from the corporate, educational, medical, and scientific communities. Board members serve on a volunteer basis for a three-year renewable term. The Board of Trustees is responsible for ensuring proper ethical and legal compliance with regulatory laws. The Board also approves and supports the mission of the institution and is ultimately responsible for upholding the regional and national reputation of the Maryland Science Center within the community it serves. A Scientific and Educational Council, comprised of individuals from the scientific and educational communities, advises the staff on matters of scientific accuracy and educational appropriateness of programmatic initiatives. Members of the Scientific and Educational Council, representing numerous scientific disciplines, advise the staff on presenting and teaching science at all educational levels.


David B. Amy, Community Volunteer

Vice Chairman

Shawn A. Abrams, Partner – 88 North Capital


Thomas Coale, Partner – Talkin & Oh, LLP

Charles K. Cooper, MD, Vice President, Medical & Scientific Affairs – BD

Eric T. Costello, Baltimore City Council, 11th District

Doug Dollenberg, Jr., President – Brightview Senior Living

Bryce Freeman, Senior Director, McCormick Global HR Shared Services

Timothy Galpin, Ph.D. Assistant Director, Programs – The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

David Gibber, Senior Vice President/ General Counsel – Sinclair Broadcast Group, Inc.

Saul E. Gilstein, Partner – Gallagher, Evelius & Jones, LLP

Pamela W. Gray, CPA, Partner – SB and Company LLC

Chickie Grayson, Community Volunteer

John W. Greene, Jr., Partner & Portfolio Manager – Bardin Hill Investment Partners

Mary Hyman, Community Volunteer

Nacole D. Lee, Associate Director GMP Downstream – Catalent

Laurel Magruder, Group Vice President, Corporate & Institutional Banking, Senior Group Manage – M&T Bank

Scott H. Marder, Shareholder – Thomas & Libowitz, P.A.

Daniel F. McGuire, Partner – KPMG, LLP

James McHugh, Executive Vice President – Exelon & CEO – Constellation

David Oestreicher, Chief Legal Counsel – T. Rowe Price

Scott Purnell, Vice President, R&D – W.R. Grace & Co.

Alex Smith, President & CEO – Atlas Restaurant Group

Scott R. Somerville, Owner – SRS Tax & Business Consulting, LLC

Francie Cohen Spahn, Owner – The Law Office of Francie C. Spahn P.A.

Chris van Swol, Senior Project Manager – The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company

Richard B. Talkin, Owner – Law Offices of Richard B. Talkin

Terry J. Teays, Ph.D., Community Volunteer

Lyn White, CFA, Senior Credit Analyst – Brown Advisory

Mark Zimmerly, Vice President of Business Development – Transamerica

Ex Officio

Hon. Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr, Governor of Maryland

Hon. Brandon M. Scott, Mayor of Baltimore City

Hon. Calvin Ball, Howard County Executive

Hon. John Olszewski, Jr., Baltimore County Executive

President and Chief Executive Officer

Mark J. Potter


Kelly S. Miller


Alexis H. Leo