Today’s Hours


Scientific Council

The Scientific and Educational Advisory Council represents various scientific, educational and engineering institutions in Maryland. The Council’s principal role is to provide scientific and educational support, advice, assistance and counsel to the President and CEO and to the Science Center staff.

The Council oversees the annual Outstanding Young Scientist and Outstanding Young Engineer Awards, the Glass Scholarships and the Lunchtime Lecture Series.

Scientific Council Members

Andrea Bowden, Ph.D.

Baltimore City Public Schools

Jim Caldwell

Stormwater Manager

Howard County Office of Environmental Sustainability

Matt Collinge, Ph.D.

Deputy Director/Associate Research Scientist

Maryland Space Grant Consortium/Johns Hopkins University

Richard Damoah, Ph.D.

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Morgan State University

Ann Darrin

Space Department, Managing Executive

Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

Andrea Erdas, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Physics

Loyola University Maryland

Donald C. Forester, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus, Biological Sciences

Towson University

Joel Daniel Greenspan, Ph.D.

Department of Neural and Pain Sciences

University of Maryland

Rev. Frank Haig, S.J., Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus, Department of Physics

Loyola University Maryland

Thomas R. Holtz, Jr., Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Vertebrate Paleontology, Department of Geology University of Maryland

Brian Jamieson, Ph.D.

President, SB Microsystems

Nirmal Kedia



Jhanna Levin

Environmental Literacy Outreach Teacher

Prince George’s County Public Schools

Ellie Mitchell

Director, Maryland Out of School Time (MOST) Network

Mollie Mulherin Thompson

Second Grade Teacher and Team Leader

Lisbon Elementary School, Howard County

Frank Niepold

Climate Education Coordinator

NOAA Climate Program Office

Adeboyejo A. Oni, Ph.D.

CEO, Owen Software Corporation

JoAnn Roberts

Science Literacy Specialist (retired)

Maryland State Department of Education

Stephen M. Schenkel, M.D.

Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine

Mercy Medical Center

Mark T. Southerland, Ph.D.

Principal Ecologist

AKRF, Inc.

Terry Teays, Ph.D.

Assistant Director, Maryland Space Grant Consortium (retired)

Johns Hopkins University

Ned Tillman

Sustainable Growth LLC

Morgana Trexler, Ph.D.

Research and Exploratory Development Department

Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

Richard Warren, Jr., Ph.D.

Crisfield High School

Jonathan E. H. Wilson, Ph.D.

Director, SEMAA and Associate Professor, Department of Biology Morgan State University

Lisa Wood

Director, Space Sciences

Ball Aerospace


Harold “Hank” Slanker

Pasadena, Maryland

Peter Gutierrez

Professor of Biochemistry and Oncology (retired)

University of Maryland School of Medicine

Charlie Sakran

Naval Air Systems Command (retired)

Ex Officio

Chairman of the Board of Trustees: David B. Amy

President and Chief Executive Officer: Mark J. Potter